At Peters Law Firm in Council Bluffs, our lawyers work hard to ensure a fair outcome when you’ve been injured in a workplace accident. Our work injury lawyers in Council Bluffs love working with clients to diligently pursue their claim. Our lawyers are fully committed to every Council Bluff client who has suffered a work injury.
A Council Bluffs Law Firm Helping You Understand Iowa’s Workers’ Compensation Laws
“Workers’ compensation” refers to Iowa’s statute of protection for workers who are injured on the job. It helps ensure coverage of medical expenses and any lost wages when a worker can't work. These laws apply even if the employer is not culpable in the injury. Iowa’s laws for workers’ compensation are complex and detailed; our work injury lawyers in Council Bluffs are here to help you navigate and understand what lies ahead.
What to Do First When You’re Injured on the Job in Council Bluffs
If you’re injured in a workplace accident, be sure to report the event promptly and properly to ensure thorough documentation and transparency from the start. A qualified attorney in Council Bluffs can competently assist you through the entire matter, from the initial filing of forms and effective negotiation with the insurance company to writing a solid settlement agreement that will protect you against future, unforeseen consequences of your injury. The lawyers of Peters Law Firm are fully committed to client service in Council Bluffs and throughout Southwest Iowa. Our work injury lawyers love working closely with clients to pursue the optimal results for their unique legal matters.
Frequently Asked Questions About Workplace Injuries
How much does workers’ compensation typically pay?
In Iowa, the weekly compensation benefit amount is based on a seven-day calendar week with maximum weekly benefit rates varying depending on your claim. In Nebraska, compensation is 66 2/3%, or two-thirds of your wage. The maximum weekly payment is 100% of the state’s average weekly wage. Nebraska does not have a rate schedule, but Iowa does. Workers’ compensation is a complex system. Talking to a personal injury attorney is one of the best ways to get your questions answered.
What if my injury becomes apparent long after the fact — for example, if I fell and felt fine at first but then developed back pain later?
Nebraska law requires you to report a work-related injury within 48 hours of becoming aware of the injury. The state also has a two-year statute of limitations law that affects the time you have to file a claim. In Iowa, you have 90 days to report a work-related injury from the “time you knew or reasonably should have known” about the injury. A personal injury attorney can explain your rights in these circumstances.
What circumstances would cause me to be denied workers’ compensation?
Most denials of workers’ compensation claims are due to missed deadlines, disputes about whether the injury is work-related, your condition not meeting state guidelines, or claims filed after leaving your job. You are not required to give up your right to workers’ comp benefits merely because your claim was initially denied. You can appeal the denial. Consult with a personal injury attorney to learn more about your rights.
Still have questions about work-related injuries? Contact Peters Law Firm online today or call us at (712) 328-3157 for a free consultation.
Effective and Efficient Handling of Your Workers’ Compensation Matter in Council Bluffs
The search for qualified work injury lawyers in Council Bluffs can be overwhelming. The work injury lawyers of Peters Law Firm are dedicated to working for the outcome you deserve. We’re proud of our lawyers’ ability to represent Council Bluffs residents with our vast experience working in a myriad of practice areas and legal matters.