Contact Us

Peters Law Firm, P.C.
233 Pearl Street, P.O. Box 1078
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Phone: 712-328-3157
Toll Free: 888-840-3157
Fax: 712-328-9092
Map and Directions

Peters Law Firm, P.C.
303 Front Street
Neola, IA 51559
Phone: 712-485-2265
Toll Free: 888-840-3157
Map and Directions

m

Site QR Code

Contact Us

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

FindLaw Network

Statute of Limitations: Follow the SOLs or You Could Be SOL.

Statute of limitations (SOL) are the laws that set a specific period of time for bringing certain kinds of legal actions.  SOLs vary from state to state and between types of claims.  To ensure the possibility for recovery it is important to be aware of applicable SOLs and to allow your attorney sufficient time to bring your claim.  If you have any questions you should contact an attorney.  

The following are just some of the SOLs for actions in the State of Iowa:

Type of Action Time Limit Iowa Code Section
Injury to Person or Reputation 2 years 614.1(2)
Fraud 5 years 614.1(4)
Property Damage 5 years 614.1(4)
Unwritten Contract 5 years 614.1(4)
Written Contract

10 years; (5 years for actions

founded on claims for rent)

614.1(5)

Judgment Quieting Title to

Real Estate

10 years 614.1(7)
Wages 2 years 614.1(8)
Professional Malpractice

2 years after claimant knew or should

have known; maximum of 6 years

from date of occurrence

614.1(9)

Secured Interest in Farm

Products

2 years from date of sale 614.1(10)
Workers' Compensation1,2 Generally, 2 years - but see below. 85.26

1Iowa Code §85.26(1) provides a two-year statute of limitation from the date of occurrence of the injury.  If weekly compensation benefits have been paid under §86.13, the limit is up to 3 years from the date of the last payment of weekly compensation benefits.

2Under Iowa Code §85.23, employees have 90 days to file notice of injury with the employer once injured.  Iowa Code §86.11 states an employer shall file a report with the Workers' Compensation Commissioner (and insurer) within four days after the employer obtains notice or knowledge of the claimed injury.

If you have any questions regarding Workers' Compensation or any other statute of limitation please contact our firm and we will get you in touch with the appropriate attorney to handle your specific situation.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information